Information about the Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is the second largest country in the Caribbean with a surface are of 48,198 square kilometres. The DR occupies the eastern two thirds of the island of Hispaniola with the Republic of Haiti owning the remaining third.


Approximately 10 596 332 million people as of January 2016.


The Dominican Republic’s political structure is based on democratic principles. There are three branches of the government: Executive, Legislative and Judicial. Every four years the country elects its president, vice president and legislators.

General Elections were held in May 15, 2016. President Danilo Medina, was re-elected for his second term. President Medina represents the PLD (Partido de la Liberacion Dominicana) or the Dominican Liberation Party.


Spanish is the official language. In areas such as Puerto Plata, Cabarete and Sosua with larger expat communities you will find English, German and Italian. When travelling outside of tourist areas or large expat communities it is suggested to know some Spanish.

Time Zone:

Local time is Caribbean Eastern Time (GMT -0400). The Dominican Republic does not practice daylight savings times as is customarily done in North America.


The capital of the Dominican Republic is Santo Domingo, which is the oldest city in the new world. It has a population of almost 2.5 million people.

Climate & Weather

Currency & Exchange

Medical & Education

Pet Travel

Great short video showing the diversity of the Dominican Republic. From the historical capitol of Santo Domingo to Las Terranes, Samana,  Punta Cana, La Romana and Puerto Plata.




Tell Your Friends!